The Irish Rugby side who claimed this year’s Six Nations Grand Slam title featured six representatives from UCD Rugby: Ross Byrne, Josh van der Flier, Hugo Keenan, Garry Ringrose, Andrew Porter and James Ryan. Josh van der Flier was named World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year 2022.

The Irish Rugby U20 side who claimed this year’s Grand Slam title had four UCD Rugby representatives involved throughout the campaign: Diarmuid Mangan, Gus McCarthy (captain), James Nicholson, and Conor O’Tighearnaigh.

The UCD Men’s Rugby First XV produced a stunning comeback to win their annual Colours match against Trinity in March. UCD were down 19-0 at half-time but won the game 22-19. The win was vital to secure the teams Energia AIL Division 1A standing for next season.

UCD Women’s Rugby were successful in maintaining their Colours title with a 17-0 win at home in their annual Colours match against Trinity in March. The first XV also reached finals in each of the League, Cup and Kay Bowen competitions but unfortunately fell short in each of these games.

UCD Rugby had four representatives on the Ireland team who finished runners up in the World Rugby U20 Championship in July. Team members were James Nicholson, Gus McCarthy, Diarmuid Mangan, and Conor O’Tighearnaigh