Athletic Union Council


At a ceremony held in UCD in May, more than 240 students from 24 different sports clubs were honoured for their outstanding achievements on behalf of the University over the last twelve months.

  • Israel Olatunde, Ireland’s fastest man, was named Dr Tony O’Neill Sportsperson of the Year.
  • The Ladies and Men’s Boat Clubs were both named Elite Club of the Year.
  • The Men’s Boat Club squad was named Elite Team of the Year.
  • The Sailing team was named the Varsity Team of the Year.
  • The Trampoline Club was named Varsity Club of the Year.
  • The David O’Connor Memorial Medal was presented to TaekwonDo Club captain Ciara Beirne.
  • The Dr Padraic Conway Memorial Medal was presented to Rory Monks of the GAA Club.
  • The Gerry Horkan Club Administrator of the Year was presented to Louis Hemeryck of the Tennis Club.
  • The Men’s Boat Club coach Coman O’Connell was named Graduate of the Year.
  • The Karate Club received the Club Inclusion Award.
  • The Equestrian Club won the Event of the Year Award for their hosting of the Equestrian Intervarsities.