Lara Gillespie on her way to winning bronze in the Individual Pursuit at the UCI Junior Track World Championships in Frankfurt, Germany.
True Grit


The Cycling Club members enjoyed amazing individual success in the last twelve months. Maura Claffey won the 2019 Stephen Roche Grand Prix, the first stage at the 2019 Tour of Omagh, the 2019 Laragh Classic, and was ranked Irish number one in Female Road Racing.

Lara Gillespie was named Cycling Ireland Female Cyclist of the Year, and was nominated for the 2019 RTÉ Young Athlete of the Year award and the 2019 Irish Independent Young Athlete of the Year award. Lara was eighth at the Elite World Track Championships 2020 in the Team Pursuit, with a new national record time of 4.21.368. At the UCI World Cups in Minsk, Glasgow and Canada, in the Elite Women’s Team Pursuit event and the Elite European Championships, she finished within the top ten. Lara also won the Leinster Cyclocross Championships in Wicklow. Off road, Brian Grogan won the senior category at the 2019 Grassroots Enduro in Carlow and the 2019 Irish Mountain Bike Series in Wicklow. Jason Kenny won the A1 category at the 2019 Willie Slattery Memorial and the 2019 Mick Lawless Memorial. Rhys Kenny won the A1 category at the 2019 Dublin Road Race Championship. In June, Conor McKenna won the 2019 A1 category at the Mondello Grand Prix. Eimer McMullan represented Ireland at the 2019 European Track Championships. Eimer finished 13th in the 500m Time Trial, 19th in the Kerin and 24th in the Sprint events at the championships. In April, Conor Murnane won the 2019 A1 category at the Mondello Grand Prix.