UCD Ladies Hockey captain, Ellen Curran
True Grit

Ladies and men’s hockey

UCD ladies’ and men’s teams retained their status as All-Ireland champions after they secured final victories at the Irish Intervarsity Hockey Championships.

UCD Ladies Hockey Club retained the Chilean Cup beating UCC 4-1  in the final in Dublin. The winning team was Michelle Carey, Niamh Carey, Clodagh Cassin, Charlotte Cope, Ellen Curran (captain), Katherine Egan, Amy Elliott, Laura Gunning, Nina Heisterkamp, Suzi Kelly, Katie Jane Marshall, Hannah McLoughlin, Orla Patton, Sarah Patton, Abbie Russell, Sophie Thomas, Emma Young and Sarah Young.

In Men’s Hockey, the men’s first team secured the Mauritius Cup, beating TUD 3 – 1 in the final. The team was Gauthier Beirnaert, Sam Byrne, Kyle Douglas, Conor Empey, Alex Flynn, Oran Grehan, Tito Henry, Peter Lynch, Max Maguire, Riain McDonald, Craig Morrow, Cian Murphy, Jamie Pullen, Ewan Ramsay, Mark Samuel, Guy Sarratt and Andrew Tutty.

Notable individual honours were those of Conor Empey, Alex Flynn, Mark Samuel and Guy Sarratt, all capped at Under 21 level, while Cian Murphy and Jamie Pullen were capped at Under 18 level.