UCD O’Reilly Hall
Celebrating Achievements

UCD Alumni Awards 2018

In November 2018, the fifth annual Alumni Awards, hosted by UCD President, Professor Andrew J Deeks, took place in O’Reilly Hall with an audience of over 400 guests.

The UCD Alumni Awards are an important event in the University calendar, showcasing the breadth and depth of a UCD education and reflecting the best of ambition, application, achievement and global impact. The Awards proudly celebrate the outstanding achievements of ten of UCD’s inspiring global alumni, nominated by peers and faculty.

The ten distinguished graduates, excelling in their fields and recognised with Alumni Awards in 2018 were: Dr Ann Derwin, UCD Agriculture and Veterinary Science; Fintan O’Toole, UCD Arts and Humanities; Jane Ann McKenna, UCD Business; John Carey, UCD Engineering and Architecture; Dr Rhona Mahony, UCD Health Sciences; Vincent Keaveny, UCD Law; Dr Julie McEnery, UCD Research, Innovation and Impact; Dr Michael Byrne, UCD Science; Dr Gráinne Healy, UCD Social Sciences; and Rob Kearney, UCD Sport.

Pat Kenny (BE 1969), master of ceremonies, was joined on stage by four UCD Ad Astra alumni and Irish hockey players, Katie Mullan, Emily Beatty, Deirdre Duke and Gillian Pinder, who, as 2018 Hockey World Cup finalists, are a source of inspiration and pride to the UCD community and to Ireland.

Special thanks to our pillar sponsors Microsoft, PwC and Intel, with support from AIB, Eversheds Sutherland, Bank of Ireland and EI Electronics.