Intel bursaries and employee mentors for UCD graduate students

Eighteen UCD master’s students in Science, Engineering and related disciplines have been awarded bursaries by Intel as part of an ongoing strategic partnership between the multinational technology company and University College Dublin.

Each student was also linked with an Intel employee mentor to provide them with guidance and advice on career development.

“To borrow a phrase from Andy Bryant, Chairman of the Intel Board of Directors, ‘The ingredient we begin with is sand, everything else is value added by people’,” said Eamonn Sinnott, general manager, Intel Ireland.

“So the bridge between sand and leading-edge 14nm devices is the determination, ingenuity and creativity of the people working here, and that is why talent development is at the cornerstone of this [strategic partnership] with UCD,” said Eamonn Sinnott, general manager, Intel Ireland.

Speaking at a special award ceremony for the students at Intel Ireland’s Leixlip Campus, UCD President, Professor Andrew Deeks said, “As well as the scholarships being announced today, UCD is also pleased to partner with the Intel Women in Technology scholarship programme and is grateful to Intel for its support of the development of the UCD O’Brien Centre for Science.”

The strategic partnership between Intel and University College Dublin was officially launched in 2016 to further connect researchers and students and help fuel the innovation economy in Ireland.

It was the culmination of a long-standing relationship between the university and Intel which has included the provision of high-quality graduates who have worked in Intel Ireland along with the collaboration between the two on a number of research activities.

The bursary recipients are:

Colm O’RiadaME Chemical & Bioprocess Engineering
Jason AtkinsonME Materials Science & Engineering
Theo MossopME Materials Science & Engineering
James BarronME Mechanical Engineering
Danny DreelanME Mechanical Engineering
Abel Paul KannanME Mechanical Engineering
Philip O’ConnorME Mechanical Engineering
Barry WhelanME Mechanical Engineering
Tao LinMEngSc Materials Science & Engineering
Sam EvansMSc Computer Science
James KeatingMSc Computer Science
Noreen LenihanMSc Computer Science
Gary Mac ElhinneyMSc Computer Science
Clara  ZeheMSc in Nanochemistry
Sam CassidyMSc in Nanotechnology
Megan O’DonnellMSc in Nanotechnology
Conor O’ReillyMSc in Nanotechnology
Paul SmithMSc in Nanotechnology

By: Jonny Baxter, digital journalist, UCD University Relations